Posted on

The Importance of Sports Massage

So many of us make a decision to get more active and run headfirst into a great workout programme without remembering that the correct rest and recovery is just as important.

An important part for me, something I think everyone can benefit from is a sports massage!

Sports massage differs from regular massage as it works deeper into the soft tissue to help treat/prevent injury, reduce tension in the muscles and reduce any pain/discomfort before, during and after activity. Many different techniques can be used and the amount of pressure used is controlled by you.

Without getting too technical, it helps to pump blood and lymphatic fluids around the body as well as increasing tissue permeability which enables the muscles to uptake more oxygen and nutrients and release lactic acid. This can help relieve any built up pain. Massage also helps to break down scar tissue and release tension from the fascia which will increase flexibility. Overall it should help your body relax and may reduce fatigue.

If you are following a regular exercise routine I would really recommend seeing a sports massage therapist to make sure your body is in the best condition possible to get the most from your workouts. Your massage therapist should be able to advise you on how regularly you should receive treatment.

I recently visited Kinga Bornemisza for a sports massage and it was one of the best I have ever had. I immediately felt the release of tension I had been carrying – I actually felt lighter! I felt like I had increased ability during my next workout and my muscles recovered a lot more quickly. If you are in London, I definitely recommend you check her out at her website or on Twitter! I’m planning to see her once a month!

About rhiadpt

Personal trainer based in London offering bespoke solutions to your fitness and wellbeing woes!

Leave a comment