Posted on

Love your boobs, love a sports bra.

If you are female and you do any form of exercise you REALLY need to be wearing a sports bra!

Image

When you exercise, your breasts will move up and down. In high energy high impact workouts your breasts can move up and down by a whole 10cm.  This cause the Cooper ligaments, the primary support for your breasts, to PERMANENTLY stretch which in turn will lead to premature sagging. Not something any of us want. Not wearing a sports bra can also lead to pain in the upper back and shoulders – get it sorted!

Its also super important you wear the right kind of sports bra depending on how active you intend to be. Sports bras come with varying support depending on the impact level you are partaking in such as low impact yoga to high impact running so make sure you choose the appropriate type.

To get the best support its also important to make sure you are wearing the correct sports bra size. Note this can also be different to the size you wear in a regular bra. I personally think its worth getting a fitting to make sure you are wearing the correct size especially if you have never been measured or if its been a while. I have found the tape measure approach isn’t that accurate and actually found the best fit when I went to Bravissimo for a fitting. The size I had ben measured for by a tape measure was completely wrong and the bra size they recommended fitting and supported me amazingly – much better than my current bras! Thanks to Tiffany at the Oxford Street branch!

My favourite sports bras have always been Shock Absorber bras however everyone is different and its best to try on as many different ones as you can until you see what is right for you. I just got this one which I think is great because its sportive enough for all levels of activity and it comes in pretty much all sizes! I’d definitely recommend it as its given me great support and is really comfortable.

About rhiadpt

Personal trainer based in London offering bespoke solutions to your fitness and wellbeing woes!

Leave a comment