Posted on

Just be happy!

One year I decided my new years resolution was simply going to be to try and be happier and allow myself to be happy. I put it on the internet and a bunch of my friends laughed and said that it wasn’t a real resolution. Foolishly I let that thinking get to me and decided it was stupid and went about making a list of generic resolutions instead.

Obviously this was absolutely ridiculous. Research proves you are more productive and more successful when you are happy. I spent a whole semester at university studying positive psychology so not only does common sense tell me that being happy makes your life better – I’ve studied the empirical evidence!

Image

Now of course you can’t just say “I’m going to be happier!” and expect the whole world to become sunshine and roses. Becoming happier within yourself is something you have to work on every day just like getting stronger or leaner or healthier and there are actions you need to take to help yourself. I could write a whole book about it, other people already have…

Today I want to take about a project I found on the internet which you may have seen on your social media feeds called 100 Happy Days. The main principle of this project is that you can take a picture of something that has made you happy for 100 days in a row. Thats it. And these don’t have to be life changing moments, just something that made you smile even if it was just for a second. The idea behind this is that was a repeated behaviour, over time you will become more optimistic and because you are forced to, naturally you will begin to notice the good things in life no matter how small.

You can make it as public or as private as you want, it costs you nothing and worse cause scenario – you have a bunch of pictures of things that made you smile. I’m doing it and I can’t wait to look back and see all the moments collect along the way!

About rhiadpt

Personal trainer based in London offering bespoke solutions to your fitness and wellbeing woes!

Leave a comment